AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Thursday 20th May 2010

COUNCILLORS PRESENT FOR THE WHOLE OF THE MEETING: The Chair (Councillor Beverley Hazell), Councillors Stephen Brown (attending as a substitute for Councillor Clark Brundin), Roy Darke, Bryan Keen, David Rundle, Scott Seamons and David Williams.

OFFICERS PRESENT FOR PART OF THE MEETING: Jeremy Thomas, William Reed and Mathew Metcalfe (Law and Governance) and Jacqueline Yates (Finance)

1. ELECTION OF CHAIR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2010/11

Councillor Beverley Hazell was elected Chair for the Council Year 2010/11

2. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2010/11

Councillor Clark Brundin was elected Vice-Chair for the Council Year 2010/11

3. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Clark Brundin (Councillor Stephen Brown attended as a substitute).

4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None declared.

5. POWERS AND DUTIES

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a note (previously circulated, now appended) which detailed the powers and duties of the Audit and Governance Committee.

The Committee agreed to note the information.

6. APPOINTMENT OF INFORMAL AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE WORKING GROUP FOR 2010/11

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report (previously circulated, now appended) which concerned the establishment of an informal working group to look, as appropriate and where felt necessary, in advance of consideration by the Audit and Governance Committee, at reports and issues for which the Committee is responsible.

The Committee agreed:

(a) To establish an informal working group as described in the report and to appoint members as follows to serve on it:

- (1) Councillor Beverley Hazell
- (2) Councillor Clark Brundin
- (3) Councillor Williams
- (b) To agree the terms of reference of the working group as detailed in paragraph 3 of the report.

7. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The Committee noted that the next scheduled meeting would take place on Monday 28th June 2010 at 5.00pm, however due to the amount of business to be transacted at that meeting, the Committee agreed to an additional meeting to take place on Thursday 15th July 2010 at 5.00pm in the Town Hall.

The meeting started at 4.50 pm and finished at 4.55 pm